Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Quorn (FD)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"Quorn is the leading brand of mycoprotein food product in the UK and Ireland. The mycoprotein used to produce Quorn is extracted from a fungus, Fusarium venenatum, which is grown in large vats.

Quorn is produced as both a cooking ingredient and a range of ready meals. It is sold (largely in Europe, but also in other parts of the world) as a health food and an alternative to meat, earning the Vegetarian Society's seal of approval. As it uses egg white as a binder, it is not a vegan food."

(The above text, and the rest of the article can be found here).

OK, so I thought it had an "a" and it's an "o"... That's the trouble with spelling and screen readers... They don't go together very well!

3 comments:

Rita said...

Aha! As I told you, I had googled it and found info. Does sound like a strange food, to be sure. But the picture they had didn't look at all like a fungus. I'd give it a go--especially with flavoring of some kind. :)

Intense Guy said...

I, um, well, can see why you might not be all that "crazy" about the stuff.

:)

But I'd try it - I'd eat nearly anything (found in a grocery store) once.

Toriz said...

Rita & Iggy:
If you're going to try it, I really do advise trying it with some kind of flavouring... A cooking sauce, for example. Even if you try a bit then add sauce on top after.